moped lawsAre you looking to save on gas or reduce your carbon footprint? If so, you might want to consider purchasing a moped. They’re excellent for traveling to the grocery store, work, the gym, and for performing any other type of errand. They’re easy to operate and, with the option to purchase an electric- or gas-powered moped, these vehicles emit little to no fossil fuel.

Although their trunk space is lacking, mopeds are perfect for getting where you need to be.

Below are some South Carolina moped laws to keep in mind when purchasing a moped:

  • If you are to operate a moped legally, you must be at least 14 years old.
  • Individuals who violate moped laws are guilty of a misdemeanor and must be fined a minimum of $25.
  • South Carolina law states that the State has the right to suspend, revoke, or cancel a moped driver’s license if he or she has violated a moped law while operating the moped.
  • Any person looking to receive a moped license must perform an eyesight test, an exam that tests the applicant’s ability to understand road signs, as well as an exam to analyze the applicant’s understanding of traffic laws.
  • Moped licenses do not require a picture of the moped operator.
  • Moped drivers can only operate their mopeds on public roads and highways and are prohibited from driving on interstates.

To learn more about South Carolina moped laws, visit the SC Department of Motor Vehicles website.

Share this post with your friends on Facebook.

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply